Sammy

“I am not sure who gets the most satisfaction – kids, their parents, Sam or me.  I find it very rewarding.”

 Bernadette & Sammy

Name: Bernadette Morgan & Sam

Type of dog: Bichon Frise x Shih Tzu

Location: Queensland

Visits: Children’s hospital

Volunteering: 18 months

Why: To bring joy to sick kids

Enjoys most: The happiness it brings to kids and parents

Dog enjoys:  Getting lots of pats and cuddles

Reaction: Everyone thinks we are doing a wonderful thing. 

Experiences: The funniest was probably the little boy who jumped out of bed (tubes and all) on seeing Sam enter his room.  He proceeded to kiss him from the top of his head all the way down his back.

The saddest was the 12 year old boy who first saw Sam prior to an operation and had a wonderful time with him.  The following week when we visited he couldn’t speak but loved patting Sam and holding him by the leg.  The father asked me if I was able to come more than once a week as he loved seeing his son so happy with Sam.  He then told me he was going to be transferred to another hospital and he wondered if I could take Sam there to visit him.  I felt very sad that I couldn’t do more for him.

Last week we visited a 12 year old girl who had just been admitted.  Her mother said she had been so worked up about having an operation but she couldn’t believe how Sam settled her down.    

I am not sure who gets the most satisfaction – kids, their parents, Sam or me.  I find it very rewarding.

 

Delta Society Australiais proud of all our Therapy Dogs. If you and your dog would like to become a Pet Partner visiting team, please read here.

Delta rely on donations and bequests to keep our important therapy programs going. If you would like to donate to Delta, please visit donations and bequests.

Visit the Delta website.

See more Delta Dogs.

Tags:


